Creative Child

11 Summer Reads for Harry Potter Lovers

by Rebecca Eanes


8. Sisters Grimm by Michael Buckley is a series of 9 books. Two sisters learn they are the descendants of the Brothers Grimm and the latest in a long line fairy tale detectives.

9. The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander is a set of five books first published more than 30 years ago and has become the standard of excellence in children’s fantasy literature, according to the book description! Follow the adventures of Taran the Assistant Pig-Keeper and his quest to become a hero!

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

10. The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper is another fantastic five book series. Three children discover and ancient map which is the key to finding a grail, a source of power to fight the forces of evil known as The Dark. In searching for it, they put their very lives in peril (from the book description).

11. The Gryphon Chronicles by E.G. Foley is a series of 5 books full of nonstop action and magical creatures. Jake is an orphaned pickpocket who can see ghosts and move solid objects with his mind. Suddenly Jake gets plunged into a world of magic and peril!


Rebecca Eanes is the bestselling author of multiple books including Positive Parenting: An Essential Guide, The Positive Parenting Workbook, and The Gift of a Happy Mother. She is the grateful mom of two boys. 


2 of 2

You might also like.

Want more? Follow us.

Join our newsletter and get the latest updates!
Hit "Like" to see Creative Child on Facebook